Horse drawings from 2013

While painting my diploma pieces last year, I wanted to do something on my free time that was different – to draw, fairly small, and without the pressure of having to show the results to anyone. The inspiration behind these is the horsemeat scandal of 2013, and the questions it raised about both what we eat and also how we view horses.

He 24x30 ink 2013

He
24×30
ink
2013

Leg 30x21cm pencil 2013

Leg
30x21cm
pencil
2013

Portrait 30x21cm sous 2013

Portrait
30x21cm
sous
2013

Horse/meat 55x38cm sous on toned paper 2013

Horse/meat
55x38cm
sous on toned paper
2013

My Little... 125x35 sous, decoration hearts 2013

My Little…
125×35
sous, decoration hearts
2013

Step 80x70cm sous, gouache 2013

Step
80x70cm
sous, gouache
2013

Drawing the line 30x21cm pencil, tape 2013

Drawing the line
30x21cm
pencil, tape
2013

6 thoughts on “Horse drawings from 2013

    • That’s yet another angle to the theme!
      Horses have had so many meanings and purposes in history and generally all culture, it makes them a very interesting subject.

      • I completely agree. They also play a part in the operation of motor vehicles as well due to their vast history. Horses are such beautiful animals.

      • Now I’m extra glad I have another exhibition of my horse drawings coming up… A good opportunity to study “the history of the horse”, think about all of these angles that hadn’t even occurred to me before and create more art. Thanks for the inspiration!

      • I’ll be looking forward to see what you conjure up. Not a problem. I live to inspire others through my words, it’s comments like yours that let me know I’m doing the right things.

  1. Pingback: Horses, part II | Sanna Maria Paananen

Leave a Reply

